New Findings in the Condiment Lab

This week I made two fun dips that almost no one besides me enjoyed.

Eggplant Pesto

IMG_0608

At some point this week I impulsively baked some eggplant. Unsure of what to do with it, I tossed it in the blender. And at the moment that I threw a nightshade into my VitaMix, inspiration struck like a thunderbolt. Pesto! I was a genius. I added almonds, basil, garlic, and olive oil, and blended it like a champ. A splash of lemon to liven it up, and I was face to face with a tasty alternative pesto.

I fed it to several people. Two people seemed to genuinely enjoy it. The rest of them grimaced before saying “wow, what a unique flavor!” It may not be popular, and the resemblance to bat guano is intimidating, but this is a creation I will stand by.

Bold Sesame Hummus

IMG_0642

This dip was more humble in it’s aspirations. I set out to make a white bean and garbanzo hummus — one can of white beans, two cans of garbanzos, olive oil, garlic, lemon, salt, tahini. However, I found myself deeply enamored of the nutty tahini flavor. Lost in a sesame lust, I added two tablespoons of sesame oil to my creation.

Overpoweringly filled with sesame? Perhaps. But I still plowed through this hummus, assisted by a box of triscuits.

Leave a Reply

