Quinoa, Perfectly Cooked

A fun story for today: I made quinoa at 1 am.

Let me elaborate. I got home late Thursday, and feeling restless, was suddenly compelled to cook 2 cups of quinoa.

For any of you new to Quinoa, here’s the greatest lesson I can ever teach you — don’t follow the recipe on the box/bag. It calls for a 1 to 2 ratio of quinoa to water, and that is too much water. You will make Quin-mush.

I discovered Gwyneth Paltrow’s recipe, which I now use exclusively, and it changed both my quinoa life, and my life as a whole. I’ve never looked back.

So I cooked my quinoa at 1 am, and when I opened the lid after the requisite 18 minutes of simmering, I couldn’t believe my eyes. I had crafted quinoa of the perfect consistency. Fluffy, light, just mushy enough without actually being mushy. I almost shed a tear.

Was this perfection was owed to rare and spectacular barometric conditions? My affectionate anthropomorphizing of an otherwise inanimate grain? Really good measurements? We may never know. All I know is that I made some righteous quinoa early Friday morning.

Of course, perfect quinoa needs some toppings to truly blossom.

IMG_0514.jpg
Footage from the scene of the crime

The following things went into my quinoa: 1 can of corn, 1 can of pinto beans, 1 can of black olives, the juice from three limes, olive oil, chili powder, salt. Nothing more. Nothing less.

What resulted was a simple, delicious, and fantastically healthy meal, which I placed in my fridge. It would be my protein filled snack for many days. I still have a bowl or two left.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

