The Dip Dr. Presents: Crab and Artichoke

I went looking for a delicious and outside of the box dip for my Super Bowl Sunday, and I found something special.  A gut busting, dairy packed, pile of goodness called Crab Artichoke dip. This is the stuff toasted baguettes were made for.

I won’t waste much time opining about the flavors. Instead, I’ll give you the recipe.

IMG_0343.jpg
It began with the cheese.

It all starts with the cheese. In a good sized baking dish I piled up one cup of shredded mozzarella cheese, one cup of shredded fontina cheese, and 3/4 a cup of shredded parmesan cheese.

And then it was time to get gooey. Onto the pile went half a cup of mayo, a cup of sour cream, and half a cup of cream cheese.

With my dairy bomb at the ready, I added two cloves of minced garlic, and 42 ounces of artichoke hearts, chopped small.

IMG_0347.jpg
I call it: Pile of Food at 45 Degree Angle.

This health food was almost ready for the oven, but we needed one final ingredient.

IMG_0348

Yes that beautiful sight you are witnessing is one cup of dungeness crab. It went into the dip and after a thorough mixing, I layered the top with more mozzarella and parmesan.

IMG_0350.jpg
Lookin good

And the rest was simple. I preheated the oven to 325, made an appointment with my cardiologist, and baked the dip for 40 minutes.

IMG_0356.jpg

Served with some choice crackers, it was just as delightful as you might imagine.

Leave a Reply

